University Award for Inclusive Excellence

Established in 2017 and awarded annually, Iowa State University's first-ever university-level inclusion award recognizes employees who have advanced the university’s mission of diversity, equity, and inclusion in ways that significantly impact the environment at Iowa State .

Selection is based on documentation of:

  • Efforts that have significantly impacted diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) at Iowa State University.
  • Exemplary performance and positive impact aligned with the university’s strategic plannon-discrimination statement, and DEI goals/statements.
  • Depth and breadth of impact on the organization.
  • Collaboration with DEI-centered offices, DEI-focused committees, or individuals in the DEI ecosystem at Iowa State.
  • Indication of nominee’s continuing commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion at Iowa State.

Complete information for nominators and their nominees can be found at the University Award website.



2021 - Elaine Phompheng and Valentina Salotti

2020 - Monic Behnken and Harrison Inefuku

2019 - Angela Shaw and Barbara Woods

2018 - Joel Hochstein and Daniel Spikes

2017 - Tera Jordan and Audrey Kennis



Congratulations (Inside Iowa State, 09/28/17)

Inclusive award debuts at university ceremony (Inside Update, 09/21/17)

Inclusive excellence award added to fall ceremony (Inside Update, 12/08/16)