Chinese Faculty and Staff Association


Welcome to the Chinese Faculty and Staff Association (CFSA) website! Our goal is to build a community to support the personal and professional development of Chinese faculty and staff, and to increase the visibility and awareness of Asian American heritage, history, and culture throughout campus and in the larger Ames community. 

CFSA membership is open to all faculty and staff at Iowa State University, regardless of race, religion, age, marital status, national origin, disability, or sexual orientation. While the majority of our members have Chinese ancestry, all faculty and staff are welcome and encouraged to participate.

Getting Involved

To join us, please email with your full name and department. You will be added to our email list, which will be used to distribute important information such as regular meetings, upcoming events, and major initiatives.  

Upcoming Events

2022 AAPI Heritage Month Celebration | Saturday, May 7th, 2022, 4:30 pm - 7:30 pm | Memorial Union, Sunroom

Event registration page

To promote diversity, equity, and inclusion in our community, Ames AAPI (Asian American and Pacific Islanders) groups and organizations will host an in-person event to celebrate the 2022 AAPI Heritage Month. The event consists of opening remarks by ISU and Ames City leaders, a short documentary about the AAPI heritage and contribution, a keynote speech by the ISU Dean of Library Service Hilary Seo, a traditional AAPI music performance (including world-class musicians), and an award presentation to winners of the 2022 AAPI Heritage Month Essay Contest. A buffet reception will follow afterward.

The event is open to the public and free of admission. Registration is strongly recommended for in-person attendees.

Past Events

Chinese New Year 2022 celebration

CFSA Events and Social Networking Committee co-chair Professor Chunhui Chen spearheaded a petition for Ames City Mayor to make a proclamation celebrating the Chinese New Year, also commonly referred to as Lunar New Year or Spring Festival. City of Ames Facebook post

CFSA helped produce a Chinese New Year video sponsored by the Ames Human Relations Commission.

University lecture

We invited Dr. Madeline Y. Hsu, Professor of History at the University of Texas at Austin, to give the Iowa State Lecture “From Yellow Peril to Model Minority and Back Again: Immigration and Sino-US Foreign Relations” on Nov. 16, 2021 at 6:00pm.  

Dr. Hsu served as Director of the Center for Asian American Studies for eight years (2006-2014).  She was president of the Immigration and Ethnic History Society and is presently representative-at-large for the International Society for the Study of Chinese Overseas, and the author of award winning book “The Good Immigrants:  How the Yellow Peril Became a Model Minority”.


Advisory Committee
The Advisory Committee advises and assists the leadership team of CFSA on all issues relevant to the operation and development of the organization.
Co-chairs: Li-Shan ChouHailiang Liu, Kan Wang, Yanhai Yin, Qijing Zhang, Dan Zhu, Jianming Yu  

Communications Committee
The Communications Committee works to disseminate information about programs, events, and opportunities to the CFSA members through an email newsletter, social media, and the CFSA website. 
Co-chairs: Hongwei Zhang, Yuyu Zhou 

Welcome Committee
The Welcome Committee focuses on reaching out to newly hired employees to help them transition to Iowa State and the Ames community. We facilitate networking with colleagues and connect new hires with university and community resources. 
Co-chairs: Guiping Hu, Chunhui Xiang, Xiaoshuang Wei

Events and Social Networking Committee
The Events and Social Networking Committee coordinates efforts to plan and organize annual social events and special events.  
Co-chairs: Chunhui Chen, Hui Feng, Shan Jiang, Hantang Qin

Rules Committee
The Rules Committee is responsible for drafting the by-laws. 
Co-chairs: Zengyi Shao, Wang Tao

IT Support Committee
The IT Support Committee provides IT technical support for the association.
Co-chairs: Liang Gong, Xuefeng Zhao


Huifang Mao
Professor, Marketing
Zhengyuan Zhu
Director of the Center for Survey Statistics and Methodology and Professor, Statistics